Thursday, 4 September 2014

Matthew Shaw - Songs and the Silences of Night

On 25th August Sonic Oyster Records will release ‘Songs and the Silences of Night’ by Matthew Shaw. These four songs are the first to be released under his own name and build on the past releases as Tex La Homa while updating the sound and structure in view of more recent site specific and long form pieces. 
The ep is a celebration and personal investigation into four states of being, all considered in the present tense. Released on black 7″ vinyl with photo sleeve, and accompanying text by Matthew verso, and while inner sleeve, played at 33RPM
Side A – 1. Walking in Circles 2.Autumn Equinox
Side AA – 1. 13th Moon 2. Vernal Equinox
‘Songs and the Silences of Night’ may well form the beginning of new explorations into the use of poetry and song in the context of the seasons and circular nature of life.

Available for £5.00 at